Deciphering my method

Well, I’ve pretty much shoe-horned all of my recent revelations into the narrative of Finnegans Deciphered. In recent weeks I’ve been having these realizations pop into my head about how or why some plot or character point must be added, or how I can fine tune the tone or pump up the dialog. I’d been making notes about them as they came to me and then shoved them into the text with each writing opportunity I had. Many of them have been square pegs in round holes, but they were good square pegs.

In more recent days, though, these revelations have stopped coming to me. I take that to mean that I have more or less finished with the “imagining” of this story and am now in my end game. (That’s not to say that I won’t have further insights; I recently made a critically important one-word change to The Sleep of Reason which dawned on me more than a year after I had “finished” writing it.) So I’ve embarked on a complete beginning-to-end read through of the manuscript with the idea that I’m finally polishing the writing and working on one of the “final” drafts. I may be far from this in reality, but it’s nice to think this was for now.

I’ve noted here before that I’m wary of understanding my creative process too much. It seems to work for me, so I want to leave it at that. If I try to scrutinize it, I may slay it. So like a ship on the sea, I ride the waves. (That’s right! I have a graduate degree in metaphor mixing.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Finnegans, Process

2 Comments on “Deciphering my method”

  1. Averil Dean Says:

    I’m so suggestible. Every book I read makes me think, Oh, I should write mine THAT way. The whole thing turns into a huge muddle until I settle down and remember that I don’t have to include everything. Not that I don’t try.


  2. I’ve known artists who work extra hard to understand their process and then keep trying to improve it. And what I’ve seen is that over time, their art loses something.

    Then I look at friends who do art who haven’t beaten out the life that has been there all along. They’ve gotten better, but they’re still true to what they’ve always been.

    So far, I haven’t seen that it’s any different with writing.

    Riding waves is good.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

