not quite a rejection, certainly not an acceptance

Exactly 261 days ago, in the middle of last summer, I had submitted my story “Making Light” to an anthology of stories in the workplace. “Making Light” is a chapter from my novel-in-limbo, Larger than Life. It seemed self contained as a story, so I thought I had nothing to lose from submitting it.

The posted response time at the anthology was 60 days. After four months I wrote to the editor asking if there was any news. That was in October. At the time they said that progress on the anthology was coming along slowly, more slowly than they had expected, and they thanked me for my continuing patience.

Today I received an email from the editor with the bad news — his bad news, but also mine, I guess. He said that the anthology was not going to be published after all. So I didn’t really get a rejection.

It’s a quirky little story. I’ll continue to look around for likely markets, but I had submitted it before mostly on a whim. Nothing gained, but nothing really lost either.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, Larger than Life

3 Comments on “not quite a rejection, certainly not an acceptance”

  1. pete29anderson Says:

    Anthologies can be like that. I also submitted a story for a workplace-themed anthology several years ago that also promised a prompt decision. Several months after the submission deadline, I followed up with the editor, who said the book was on hold (probably due to funding problems) but that he still intended to put it out. After another year, I submitted it for a different workplace anthology, and it was accepted and published. (On the Clock: Contemporary Short Stories of Work, from Bottom Dog Press.) Of course, after the acceptance I withdrew it from the first anthology. Long story short – keep sending it around. If it’s good, it will find a home.

  2. Averil Dean Says:

    So frustrating. I can imagine that anthologies would be difficult to organize and might easily fall through. Collect your $200, return to GO. Keep after it, Paul.

  3. LauraMaylene Says:

    Ugh. But imagine if they accepted your story and then closed down. That kind of stuff seems to happen all the time. I always want to puke in terror when I hear about authors who sign contracts with big houses, get their advance and everything, and then, for any number of reasons, the deal (or editor, or publishing imprint, etc.) goes south and the contract is canceled. I’m creeping myself out just writing about it. Good luck finding a home for that story!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

