back in the saddle

So in the last month I’ve received three rejections for my stories. And because I consider it healthy to bear this bad news without flinching, I share it with you.

I’m in a curious state lately. I have been so consumed by the Fathers and Sons stories that I have just about lost interest in all of my other stuff. I have two novels I ought to be doing something with and a half dozen stories that I should be circulating, but until last evening, I hadn’t.

One of my stories is only 100 words long. It’s called “How Tony Lost It All and Kept It Off, Mostly.” I wrote it more or less as a challenge to myself (being suspicious of the whole flash fiction thing) and submitted it some months ago to a mag that was looking for such things. This, of course, was one of the rejections. But good old Duotrope’s Digest listed a number of venues that publish 100-word stories, and for some reason I scraped up enough motivation to send my piece in. I’ll let you know what comes of it.

Another of my stories, a sort of magical realist piece called “The Infinite Regression of Jerry C,” which is based on an actual person I once knew, was rejected by an online mag that I didn’t think was a good fit for it. Okay. But that rejection was weeks ago. Why didn’t I do anything with it after that? So last night I did try to submit it, but the submission mechanism at the magazine didn’t seem to be working. I sent them an email asking about it, and once I have a resolution, I intend to send the story along. Again, I’ll let you know.

The third story of mine that was recently rejected was “The Death of Superman,” which is one of the Fathers and Sons stories. (The first one, actually.) I think I said in an earlier post that I had made a sort of broadcast submission of the story to several worthy targets, four or five in total (I’ve lost my notes about just who and where and when — how can that happen?). Two have declined the privilege of publishing my wonderful story, but that’s okay actually. I want to rewrite the story since I’ve learned so much about the world in which that story exists. I probably have fifteen stories that I’ve conceived so far for these folks who live in this universe, and while each builds on or informs the others, their influence is making it hard to submit the “finished” stories lest they need to be modified.

I’ve also mentioned on this humble blog about a chapter from my ill-starred Larger Than Life novel that I’ve been submitting here and there, now and then. It’s called “Travel Light” and I think it’s a good bit of work. For some reason, I got the gumption to submit it to another possible market. (It is currently in consideration at another magazine too.) I was cruising the Duotrope Calendar, which lists the types of stories mags are looking for, and I found one that wanted stories about the “outdoors.” Well, my story is about a team-building float trip a number of office co-workers take. Of course, it’s about a lot more than that, and the river is a metaphor. And travelling light has multiple meanings and such. But that’s the art of it, right?

So at least for one night, I was back in the submission saddle. I feel as though I am robbing time from writing my Fathers and Sons stories, but I imagine you’re sick of hearing about those.

Such are the troubles of my life. What’s bugging you these days?

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “back in the saddle”

  1. LauraMaylene Says:

    Can you possibly cut 21 words from that 100-word story? If so, Esquire is running a contest for 79-word stories.

    http://www.esquire.com/fiction/fiction-contest-0612?click=main_sr#slide-1

  2. Averil Dean Says:

    What’s bugging me? Much like you, it’s a lack of proper appreciation for my story. Love me, love me do.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

