year in review

I think I am more than a little shy, or as the man said, “He’s a humble fellow, and he has much to be humble about!” Thus I’m not really comfortable with a post like this, but as the man also said, “If you have nothing else to say, talk about yourself.”

2013 was a pretty good year for me. Five of my little stories (including two of my Fathers and Sons pieces) were published within the year:

In addition, my story “Pandora’s Tackle Box” was reprinted in Harnessing Fire: A Hephaestus Devotional.

It was also a good year for me running-wise. I completed a number of 5K and 10K runs, joined a running club, and ran my first (but certainly not last) half marathon, which was the hardest thing I have ever done (and I’ve been through childbirth four times)! To top it off, I completed 1,000 miles run in the year during that half marathon. (I even created a category for my posts about this. Click on Running at the right if you want to read about me running on about running on.)

I didn’t read nearly as much as I would have liked in the year but there’s always next year. And in the next year I intend to run a full marathon (as well as at least one half marathon and assorted other runs and another 1,000 miles overall). And I nearly reached 100 friends on Facebook!

What else is there for me in 2014? I think I’m going to try juggling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

4 Comments on “year in review”


  1. I hear that juggling thing is pretty nifty! (KC has a juggling club…they also have an annual festival. I hoped to make it this year, but my wife sprained her ankle a couple weeks before the fest. Maybe next year…I haven’t been back to KC/Olathe/Independence since…1991?)

    While my running plans are nowhere as ambitious as yours, the plan is to simply get back to running again. (And tennis.) Here’s to seeing much more of your work published in 2014 and reading an entry about your first full marathon!

  2. Annam Says:

    Run to New Mexico!

  3. melinda Says:

    I figured out long ago that I’m not coordinated enough for juggling! I’m doing pretty good to just put one foot in front of another!

    I’ve toyed with the idea of running a full marathon, or at least another half marathon, this year. I’m still on the fence about that. But I definitely need to start sending out some of my own stories for (potential) publication this year – even though that scares the bejeezus out of me!


  4. Regarding juggling: too soon to call it (I’ve thought about a SW American road trip in autumn), but it’s been decades since I’ve been back to KC: http://www.kansascityjugglingclub.com/fest/2014/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

