3,000 words

Is it just me, or have a lot of publications been limiting word count on short stories to a mere 3,000 lately? The last few calls for submission I’ve pursued had this limit, and I wonder if it’s the new thing (or maybe just a coincidence).

I found a magazine that put out a call with a theme that seemed to be a good fit for one of my Fathers and Sons stories, so I revisited the story (which had been simmering on my hard drive for a while) with the idea that I would submit to the theme and maybe have a shot. Of course, the magazine limited the word count to 3,000, and my story was 3,350 words. So I asked myself if I could cut out 10 percent and still tell the story I had to tell.

Turns out I could nearly do it. (I came up through journalism, so cutting superfluous words is a skill I’ve acquired.) I chopped and chopped and reworded and slashed and burned and killed my darlings and all of those things and got the word count down to 3,145. So close!

I had given an earlier draft of the story to my wife to read some months ago, and at the time she told me that the story had ended at a given point but that I had kept blathering on. I remembered that as I faced those last 145 words. So I checked how many words my ending blather came to, and they came to exactly 145 words. Truly. If I ended the story where she believed it ended, then I would make the cut.

My extra words at the end were intended to reinforce the theme of the story. (I tend to start with a theme and build a story plot to serve it.) But if my wife was correct then I didn’t really need that reinforcement. And presumably the editor would see that too. So I saved the file under a different name (to preserve my original ending) then chopped out those last bits of blather. With a little more tinkering, I got the word count down to 2,980, which I think is a safe buffer that did not comprise the story telling I wanted to do.

I sent the story in this morning. The magazine has a higher-than-average acceptance ratio according to Duotrope’s Digest, but its response time can be up to six months according to the reports. I dug a little deeper at the magazine’s site and learned that their 3,000 word limit is not some editorial preference but an actual physical limitation of the blogging software they use to post stories. So that cleared up at least one mystery.

The year is only four days old, but I’ve already submitted two stories (with reasonable hopes of acceptance) and I have a third I’m muscling to get ready for submission too.

Explore posts in the same categories: Process, Rants and ruminations

2 Comments on “3,000 words”

  1. donnaeve Says:

    I’m not as seasoned as you are when it comes to writing shorter stories. I tend to stick to novel lengths. I love the way you worked around your issue though, and had the ability to see those extra words as unnecessary. How hard it is to cut words when it gets that close. Good luck on the submission…sounds like your new year is off to a “running” start – literally and figuratively!

  2. Teri Says:

    A panel of journal editors had this to say recently: Ignore our word-count limit. Kind of. (and then they laughed)

    They certainly don’t want 10,000 words; but they want to publish a great story. If the limit says 3,000 and your piece is 3,700 but it’s awesome, they will not care one bit about those “extra” words. But if it’s 2,500 and just okay, they’re not accepting it anyway, so you may as well just present your best work.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

