“Men at work and play” is now online

My story “Men at work and play” is now up at Wolf Willow Journal. Click on over there and have a read if you’re interested. As of this morning, it bears the title of “The Shawl in my Closet” but I’ve asked the editor to fix that.* The story begins “Curt knelt in the gravel before the dying fire . . .” If you see that, you’re in the right place. And if you care to, let me know what you think.

For one of my early published stories, the editor had used the wrong name in the byline. That never got fixed though I had asked. Oh well.

I read through “Men at work and play”┬ánow and spotted all of the things I would have fixed if I’d seen them before submitting. I can’t believe I use the verb “slump” in successive sentences. I have a dangling modifier that sticks out. (I’m not usually too bothered by these, but this one bugs.) And do I really need to say they’ll be a mess twice?

As I said in yesterday’s post, not a whole lot happens in this story . . . except for everything. What came before and what comes after in the cycle of stories gets concentrated and focused in this one. That I could even write this I take as a sign that I’m finally in control of the shifting, amorphous mass of tales that have been presenting themselves to me over the last two years.

So this marks the fourth Fathers and Sons story to see publication: “When We were Young and Life was Full in Us,” “The Lonely Road,” “Men at work and play,” and the forthcoming “The Most Natural Thing in the World.” I have a couple of others in circulation. I’m feeling pretty good about this whole cycle.

* Fixed!

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons, Humble efforts, short stories

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on ““Men at work and play” is now online”

  1. Averil Dean Says:

    Congratulations, Paul! Well done. XO

  2. Annam Says:

    This is just so beautifully written and the image of the three with their arms wrapped around each other will stay in my mind for days.

  3. donnaeve Says:

    A belated congrats Paul…!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

