“The Most Natural Thing in the World” is now up at MOON Magazine

My latest Fathers and Sons story, “The Most Natural Thing in the World”, is now up at The MOON Magazine. Hop on over there if you care to and give it a read. I’m especially interested in what you think of this one. You can leave a comment there, or you can post one here. Or not. Up to you.

A lot is happening in the background of this story. A significant character development is beginning to be expressed here, one that will affect the father and son dynamic of the subsequent stories.

A word of caution, however. When you go to that link, you’re going to get smacked in the face with my face. I hope you don’t turn to stone or anything when you see it. (That photo was taken on the day I ran my second 5K. What a neophyte I was!)

I hope you like the story.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons, short stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on ““The Most Natural Thing in the World” is now up at MOON Magazine

  1. Annam Says:

    I posted my comment there, but here it is too. I loved the story, by the way.

    What was most interesting to me about this story is that the father seems genuinely heart-broken over the fact that his son is growing up–and away–from him (as was I, being a mom of two boys herself!). “I’ve come to see that Curt needs to keep a wall of sarcasm between us.” But I find that the real “wall” in this story comes from the father himself. He doesn’t use sarcasm. He is hiding in his past–the relationship he had with his father–the history is obstructing the future here. I don’t really get a clear grasp of who he is, and he keeps his vulnerabilities quite hidden even though the story is told in first person. It’s like he’s protecting himself, and I think he’s got a lot more in common with his son then he realizes. This, I believe, is the real genius of the story… the parallel, what the reader knows about these characters that they don’t know, and the beautiful, sad vulnerability of the father. I am excited to read more from this collection.

  2. Averil Dean Says:

    Wonderful writing, Paul. I love the things we don’t see here, the hints of tension in these relationships. Really well done.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

