Chapter Four

I’m confident that I have mastered Chapter Three of Finnegans Afoot. I started reading the draft of the novel from the beginning. That got me back on track as to where I wanted Chapter Three to go. I think I have it mostly in proper shape now.

I’ve embarked on Chapter Four, and this morning I managed to write a bit more than a thousand words. These are first-draft words, of course. I know some writers are pleased to write a thousand good words in a week, so I don’t want to seem like I’m crowing about my pace. A lot of those words will be muscled about or cut altogether before the job is finished.

I managed to cut a couple thousand words from Chapter Three. (It had grown to more than five thousand words, which is about two thousand more than I generally want in a chapter.) Much of that I think I can use in a later chapter. The novel includes hiking in the Ozark mountains, and what I cut from Chapter Three deals with that, so I can recycle it.

Anyway, I’m glad to be back on track.

Explore posts in the same categories: Finnegans, Humble efforts

Leave a Reply

