Overheated (I guess)

I think I may have overheated the creative machine in my frenzied pace of writing in the last week. I’m probably within a thousand pages words of finishing the first draft of the novel, and I’ve taken the last two days off. I’ve not written a word. What’s more, I haven’t wanted to.

I guess I reached a kind of overload, which I certainly hope is temporary.

Actually, I read through my notes for the novel yesterday and highlighted points I need to insert or stress more. And I got more firmly in my mind just what still needs to be done in the final chapter. So I can’t say that I’ve completely turned my back on writing the novel.

I do recognize, though, that there may be a cost to such output. I don’t suppose I mind. I put down more than 8,000 words in less than a week, and if it costs me a few days of sluggishness, I’d still rather have those 8,000 words.

We’ll see what happens.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

