Sleep creeps

I continue to make progress on Chapter Seven of The Sleep of Reason, though it is coming at a much slower pace than the frenzied composition of earlier chapters. I’m not much bothered by this. Not only is this an important chapter that collects all that came before and then casts it forward into the rest of the story, but I seem to be taking even more care in the words I choose and the sentences I craft than I have thus far. Maybe it is the continuing evolution of me as a writer as this novel has taken hold of me. I am really charged by this story, much more than I have felt with most of the other fiction I’ve written and far more than any of the non-fiction I’m responsible for.

The chapter stands at just over 4,200 words, and I’d say it is about two-thirds completed now. I have an important twist in the plot/character to introduce next, and I’m approaching it carefully.

Yes, I know that every word I write should be approached carefully, and I’ve thought that I have. Or at least re-approached carefully. But as I noted, I seem to be transforming. Stay tuned for further developments.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, Sleep of Reason

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

