Fortunate obscurity?

A recent interview with Toni Morrison in the Times Online reveals a lot of about the writing life in general and that writer in particular. I was pleased to learn that she rises at 4:00 a.m. to write, a practice I happen to do as often as I can. I thought the interview also revealed her prickliness in being an interview subject.

I’ve read most of Morrison’s novels, and they can be difficult and challenging reads, but they are worth the effort. I can’t imagine writing the way she does though. After being identified as “the nearest thing America has to a national novelist” and winning the Nobel Prize, she said that she felt as though someone was lurking over her shoulder, robbing her of the privacy she needed to write.

I suppose I should feel grateful for the opportunity and freedom to write that obscurity has given me.

(Thanks to The Elegant Variation for linking to the article and so bringing my attention to it.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Rants and ruminations

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

