Chapter 13 is complete

I think. I finished Chapter 13 of The Sleep of Reason this morning, and it came in at about 4,800 words. That’s a little short for the standard I’ve established for this novel, but it does what it set out to do, and that’s the real standard I must follow.

I continue to marvel at how little “revelations” come to me as I write this novel. It seems that I am writing far more set up material than I consciously realize. There is the structure of the story, of course, and some creative developments call for rework in early chapters, but I still find how little moments of plot or characterization so perfectly — and unexpectedly — mesh with something I had written earlier. I think that I can have my protagonist do this or that, and I suddenly realize that whatever it is makes perfect sense in terms of something I had established earlier.

This is, I suspect, no more than a manifestation of my comprehensive (if subconscious) understanding of my characters and the story I am writing. I shouldn’t make so much of it since it really should be expected. I can’t help getting a charge out of it though when it happens.

I’ve noted here a number of times that I don’t want to understand my creative process too well. I fear I might slay it with too analytical an understanding of it. To me it is a qualitative mystery, and I don’t want to turn it into a quantitativeĀ  mechanism that no longer lives for me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, Sleep of Reason

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Chapter 13 is complete”

  1. Brian Keaney Says:

    Those are the moments that make the huge extended effort of writing a novel worthwhile. Enjoy them!


Leave a Reply

