The Train is underway

I think I’ve mentioned here before that I have a short story called “Night Train to Kisumu” that have shopped around without success. I’m not sure just how much shopping around I did though. When I looked at the log I keep of these things, I had only sent it to two publications in the last two years. (I may have sent it to more and the log may not reflect this because it is the restored log from after my hard drive crash last summer. Grrr.)

Regardless, in one of those fits of industriousness that sometimes afflicts me, I looked up a likely magazine for it and made a submission of the story this morning. It is a serious magazine, though the content is eclectic. It was hard to judge their interests based on the stories they had published (online, of course) since they are of such a variety.

I like this story, and I’m a little embarrassed that I haven’t put more effort into getting it published. I think it is a good tale, based on an incident on a train I was riding in Kenya some years ago. Response time is supposed to be in thirty days. As you might guess, I’ll let you know if anything comes of this fit of mine.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, short stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

