Time Capsule

I recently installed an Apple Time Capsule as the router for the wireless system in my home. I’d been wanting to do something like this since last summer when I had that much lamented hard drive crash and lost so much data, including two chapters of The Sleep of Reason.

The router we had was a number of years old (what number? I don’t know but at least five), and we could expect faster performance from a new one regardless of the make or ancillary function.

And I am getting faster response time when I send requests to the internet and such, but it’s the ancillary function that I’m really pleased about.

The Apple Time Capsule has a 500 gigabyte hard drive. That’s a lot of storage space for a simple writer. But what is best about it is that using the Time Machine program that comes with the latest Apple operating system, I get backups made almost continously of everything on my laptop hard drive. Everything I have is now stored securely on the router, and I don’t have to lift a finger to make it happen. Time Machine does it for me automatically. If I should ever lose data on my hard drive again, I’ll be able to restore easily from the automatic backups. I’m sleeping much more soundly these days.

I am still making manual backups too. I still copy my daily work onto a thumb drive and then copy that onto another computer I have, and I’ll probably continue to do that for a long time because I’m old-fashioned (obsessive) like that.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

