Chapter 15 is underway

I’ve finally made a good start into Chapter Fifteen of The Sleep of Reason, having more than 1400 words in place. This chapter had a troubled beginning. I was thrown off balance when I had thought that I had lost the last thousand words of the previous chapter. Would I need to rewrite those — a difficult endeavor for me, I’ve learned — or try to incorporate their plot points into the next chapter? I made a feeble attempt at the latter and then was pleased to find the missing words saved in a file in an unlikely place.

With all of that set to rights, I still had lost a week of writing time in my befuddlement and only this week got myself back on track. (Seems like there’s a mixed metaphor in there somewhere.) I’ve had the good sense to return to my synopsis pre-writing process, and that has helped me get this chapter underway, but the story is “revealing itself” to me in such a dynamic way that my synopsis for the chapter is at best a suggestion, to be departed from regularly.

And now I find myself in what may be the oddest chapter of my odd novel. I knew all along in what direction I had to go at this point in the story telling, but now that I’m writing it I find it taking on a different tone (compared to what’s come before). I’m not sure what to do about this. For the moment, I’m just going to write the story as it requires, but I think I’m going to have to go back and do a little tonal work in the earlier chapters so that when the reader gets to this point the shift is not so abrupt. Oh, the rewrite! What a job that’s going to be.

I now have the end in sight, but the closer I get to it, the more writing it seems to require.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, Sleep of Reason

Leave a Reply

