Chapter 15 progresses further

I’ve made satisfactory progress on Chapter Fifteen of The Sleep of Reason. As I noted before, it’s the oddest chapter in this odd novel (thus far), so I’ve kind of been feeling my way. The synopsis prewriting technique has helped some, but I still feel as though I am in the wilderness without a map. As with every other chapter I’ve written, it will get better in the rewrite.

I’m up to 4,200 words in the chapter, and I think fewer than a thousand more will finish it. How many more until I finish the novel itself? I don’t know. It seems like the closer I get to the end, the more words there remain to be written.

I’ve also mentioned before that I need to do a read through of the story as it currently stands. I’ve been at this for a year now, and I’ve hardly revisited the early stuff. I’m afraid I’m getting too removed from what I had done then, forgetting parallels I intended to make or set ups I need to deliver on now. All it will take is some extra free time in my life. I should get on that.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, Sleep of Reason

Leave a Reply

