Chapter 15 is completed

Somewhere within me I found the gumption to get Chapter 15 of The Sleep of Reason finished in first draft. It currently cools at just under 5,000 words.

I’m not sure what to think of this chapter. While it takes necessary steps in the development of the plot, it really is a divergence from the storyline thus far. I’m beginning to explore the relationship between my protagonist and an important but wholly different character. The character is not altogether new. He’s made a few appearances in earlier chapters, but now his role has come to the fore.

The problem is that I feel as though I’ve left the main narrative, and devoting a whole chapter seems to be too great a departure. (Most of the next chapter will also be along this side track.) I couldn’t really have introduced this part of the story any earlier, and I hope that I have established sufficient precedent for it to allow it to fit. (I think I’ve mentioned in an earlier post that my protagonist must repeat certain activities four times through the story. He must prepare for these activities, and this odd chapter is merely his preparation work for the third time through. I hope the pattern is evident, though I’ll find out when I give it all a dispassionate read through later.)

I think I can tie this back more clearly to the main story with hints and references. My protagonist has this preparation work along with plenty of other work to bring about the activities assigned to him. He can remind himself of the other work that needs doing, thus bringing the reader back to the main storyline. I can show scenes of him doing other work. And so forth.

We’ll see how it goes.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, Sleep of Reason

One Comment on “Chapter 15 is completed”

  1. Rod Duncan Says:

    In writing the first third of a novel, I feel you have the luxury of following new threads when they emerge from your unconscious mind – even if they do not fit in with the plot you initially imagined. You can always go back later and edit them back or cut them into smaller chunks or ‘fix’ them if they still seem broken. Or even cut them out altogether.

    In a discipline in which there are no fixed rules, how else are we going to discover what works?

    All the best with yours.

    Rod


Leave a Reply

