“The Manuscript”

I popped open my email inbox yesterday and got some dandy news. A short story I had submitted has been accepted by an online magazine. In fact, the response came a mere nine days after I had sent my submission email, and in it the editor said that she thought I had a “wonderfully original idea” and that it was “very well executed.”

The magazine is Mirror Dance, and it was calling for submissions for its Summer 2009 edition with the theme of Villains and Anti-Heroes. It’s a fantasy publication, which is not something I write much of, but I did have a story with what could be defined as an anti-hero in it, so I sent it off.

I guess you could say that mine is an epistolary story. It involves the discovery of a manuscript (hence the title) tucked into a book and what it reveals. I’ve framed it with an introduction and conclusion by a first-person narrator who may not be too clever but who provides an effective contrast to the main character whose story is told in the manuscript.

I’m not sure when the summer edition will come out, but I’ll be sure to make a post about it here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, short stories

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on ““The Manuscript””

  1. Brian Keaney Says:

    Congratulations, Paul!


Leave a Reply

