A follow up to an earlier post

Way back here, I declared my allegience in the low-grade theater of the usage wars over the proper use of the word “blog.” It bugs me to hear people say they going to “blog about” some issue that concerns them. It bugs me even more when people say (or write) that they “wrote a blog” about something. No, they might write a post on their blog about that something, but anything else is just a crime against the language.

You don’t have to take my word for it though. I refer you to the august and illustrious Comprehensive Blog Glossary, which defines the word “blog” as popular slang for “weblog.”

I don’t think any more needs to be said.

Explore posts in the same categories: Rants and ruminations

2 Comments on “A follow up to an earlier post”


  1. I’m with you halfway on this. I too hate it when people use “blog” instead of “blog post” or “blog entry”, but I do regularly use “blog” as a verb to connote “write a blog post.” The single-word verb is such much more concise, and everybody knows what you mean when you say it (even if they object to its use, like you do) but using “blog” to denote both the delivery vehicle and the content is unnecessarily confusing.

  2. J.M. Reep Says:

    So “blog” can’t be used as a verb? Why not? I’m sure I use the word as a verb all the time. I guess we all have our own pet peeves.


Leave a Reply

