Something came to mind

I don’t know where all of these unbidden thoughts I have come from, and I don’t want to know, but a sentence just popped into my head yesterday. It was an observation about meeting familiar faces in strange places and as I pondered it, I realized that it meshed nicely with a piece of a short story I have made notes on that I never thought I could do anything with.

Based on that unexpected serendipity, I sat down and started making notes about how the story might develop, and an hour later, I pretty much had it all sketched out. I know how it begins, where it goes, and how it ends. (I don’t generally have all three components in hand at once.) It’s a “simple” matter of writing the story now.

I have another very short story I’ve completed in recent days, and I’ve found the gumption to polish up an older story of mine to send in to a likely magazine.

What’s with the frenzy of creativity I’m having? I suspect it’s all pent up work that I haven’t been able to indulge because I was busy writing the novel. Now that that creative work is done (it’s just rewrite and mopping up now), I guess my mind is taking advantage of the available capacity and throwing stories at me.

I’ll keep you posted.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, short stories

Leave a Reply

