A Writer’s Journal

I’ve written of my admiration for Nancy Pickard here before. Her blog had grown unpleasantly silent in recent months, but now I find that she has begun A Writer’s Journal, chronicling week by week her work on the novel she is currently writing.

Her entries are succinct and to the point, even as they range far during her week. I love these kinds of insights into other writers’ processes and even into their minds briefly. She seems to be able to write anywhere in the city — something I cannot do. I suspect that this journal is also therapeutic for her, giving her some distance and perspective.

In the meantime, her next novel, The Scent of Rain and Lightning, will be coming out this spring. I’ve been to the part of Kansas where she has set this story, and it is a haunting place, completely unexpected in the otherwise flat Kansas plain. I’ll be grabbing that novel as soon as it hits the bookstore shelves.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reviews and Responses

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

