“Diaspora”

During an otherwise unremarkable weekend, I found a piece of delightful news in my email inbox. Another of my short stories has found a publisher. I’ve written about the story, “Diaspora,” before. I managed to write the first draft while on vacation in New Mexico back in August. I was pleased with it, and in subsequent weeks I revised and refined the story and then found what appeared to be a suitable market for it — thank you again, Duotrope’s Digest!

The magazine is Crossed Genres, and it specializes in science fiction and fantasy. For an upcoming issue they had requested stories with characters of color. My story happens to deal with the issue of race, and it happens to have a mild science fiction telling, but what I think is most important about it is the question it causes the reader to ask of himself or herself at the end.

So it looks as though my story will be coming out in the November electronic issue of Crossed Genres. When the issue is posted, I’ll be sure to put a link to it here on Lucky Rabbit’s Foot. Apparently there will also be a print version coming soon.

The email noted that I will be contacted by the zine’s assistant editor about edits for the story. (She’s described as “very good” and “easy to work with.”) I hope she doesn’t have extensive changes in mind since I must have the work finished (and the publishing contract signed and a short bio written) by the 10th of October. (Alas, when I went through the story again recently, I did find a verb error: “had” should have been “have.”)

And, mirabile dictu, I’m going to be paid for my story! I’ll receive a whole $10 for it. Aside from my nonfiction writing, this is the first time I’ve been paid for my work. I guess I can call myself a professional now. Sure, $10 is not enough to repay the cost of my vacation stay in New Mexico where I wrote the story, but the satisfaction I feel is certainly compensation enough.

Update: I’ve already received the edits from their “easy to work with” reviewer. She was, too. She only suggested one rewording and spotted the one verb error I mentioned above. Aside from that, she found a moment to insert a compliment in the margin.

Explore posts in the same categories: short stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on ““Diaspora””

  1. Cielo Says:

    Congratulations! Looking forward to the published story.

  2. Brian Keaney Says:

    Congratulations, Paul!


Leave a Reply

