Old habits

Slate, via The Millions, addresses an issue that has irked me for years: the bad habit of leaving double spaces after periods.

Who’s with me on this?

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic, Rants and ruminations

3 Comments on “Old habits”

  1. Brian Keaney Says:

    I hate extra spaces in a manuscript.


  2. I started out writing on a typewriter, but I’ve trained myself to stop hitting the space bar twice after a sentence.

    To pay the bills, I edit and format technical manuals, and one of the first things I do is a find and replace to clear all double spaces after a sentence and replace them with a single space.

    I still bump into people on work projects who argue that a double space is required, because that’s what they were taught years ago.

  3. Paul Says:

    Brian – I have deleted the extra spaces in literally thousands of documents in my time.
    Christopher – I was the same.


Leave a Reply

