“The Mythmaker”

I’ve added another of my early short stories, “The Mythmaker,” to the sidebar for your reading enjoyment. It is my first published story, appearing in 1990 in The Platte Valley Review. Since that was in the days of print-only publication, I had to re-key the entire 4,900+ words, so please be kind if you spot any typos.

I’m proud of this story even though I might use my commas and sentence fragments differently if I were to be writing it today. Nonetheless, I reproduced my grammar and punctuation just as they had appeared in print more than twenty years ago. Like my story “The Lively Arts in Kansas City” it is locally focused, but you don’t really need any background to understand the story.

I’d love to hear what you think of the tale.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, short stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on ““The Mythmaker””

  1. Annam Says:

    I posted this elsewhere, but I’ll post it here again:

    What a magically rendered story – so sad in turn, and so beautiful in others. I love these lines – “In my past the chair faced the window so the little boy could look out in wonder at the world. Now it showed an herb boutique.” Where has that little boy gone, now lost in the worries/troubles of adulthood. This concluding credo can be applied to many people’s lives, especially those with such rich histories and promise. Thanks for this story.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

