Writer benefits

My wife and I were discussing one of the key benefits of being a writer: the dress code.

Because I do most of my writing in the wee small hours of the morning, I generally fall out of bed and into my chair in my pajamas. (And you should understand that “pajamas” is a euphemism for underwear.)

In days of yore, did men actually wear jackets and ties when they sat down to write? Okay, maybe T.S. Eliot, but others? Really? Granted, they may not have been writing in their “pajamas,” but I’d bet they dressed casually and comfortably for this internal, solitary work. (And I wouldn’t be surprised if many writers of yore did work in their “pajamas.”)

So what about you? What is your writing dress code?

Explore posts in the same categories: Rants and ruminations

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Writer benefits”

  1. Beth Says:

    I just write in whatever I have to be wearing that day, I don’t have a particular uniform.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if the writers of yore worked in their ‘pajamas’ either.

  2. Annam Says:

    I get most of my writing done in the afternoon, so whatever I am wearing that day (which is pretty casual). I don’t think I’ve ever written in my pajamas. I have a weird thing about separating sleep from “work.”

  3. Brian Keaney Says:

    Comfortable clothes.


Leave a Reply

