Seen and unseen

I’m told that when a reader of this humble blog clicks to a specific post (rather than just scrolling through recent posts) that ads have been appearing at the bottom of the screen. I’ve not seen these. Perhaps that is because I am the administrator of the blog and so they are hidden from me. (One worthy person has speculated that since I am using the free WordPress platform hosting, these ads are part of the terms of agreement I blithely clicked through.)

This is not my doing. I have not solicited or authorized any ads on this blog, and since I don’t know what they are promoting, I can’t even say that I approve or disapprove of the content. So be warned, gentle reader, that if you see ads here, they come from “the other” that is the internet.

I’ve always been skeptical about ads on blogs anyway. Unless you are someone who gets thousands and thousands of visits a day, I doubt that such ads provide enough revenue to compensate for the inherent smarminess of the business. But I don’t know much about this sort of thing, so correct me if I’m wrong.

In other news, you will now see share buttons at the bottom of the posts so you can spread the word about my rambling and incoherent entries on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus. I suppose I vaguely understand what this means, and I’ve already had visitors from both Facebook and Twitter as a result.

Anyway, now I’m hip.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

6 Comments on “Seen and unseen”


  1. Love the new share buttons! šŸ™‚

    btw: I am not logged in and now I am not seeing ads. Strange. I’ll keep you updated.

  2. Laura Says:

    I am such a social media slacker. I do use Facebook, but it’s purely personal, not a writing/marketing thing. (Ugh, just the thought of “social media” and “marketing” combined in one sentence makes me want to throw up in my mouth a little.) I did get on the Twitter but can’t bring myself to regularly read through it or, you know, participate. Now Google Plus is next. I activated my account mostly because I believe it will eventually knock Facebook off the top rung, so I want to be prepared. But I have added like four people to my circles and then never did anything else. One of these days, if I ever get my act together, I’ll find you on Google Plus. Or put those little icons on my site. I don’t know. Now I’m kind of cranky and want to seclude myself in a small room with a book, a cat, and a bottle of wine.

  3. Laura Says:

    …on second thought, that cat thing looks weird. But you know what I mean.

    {anti-social}

  4. Downith Says:

    Hi Paul, I found the GPS story – neat!

    I too have been told that ads appear sometimes on my blog – I googled about it and apparently WordPress does sometimes “carefully select” ads to fit your blog – I’ve never seen them on my own (I think you are right because we are logged in) but have seen them on others.


  5. Hmm… I checked three posts and didn’t see any ads. My blog is on Blogger, not WordPress. I wonder if it does the same thing?

  6. Averil Dean Says:

    Rats! I’d be spreading the word for you, Paul, but like Laura I’m a social media outcast. No Facebook, no Twitter. (Well, okay, technically I do have a Twitter account which seems to broadcast my new posts without any interference from me. I’m sure the tweeters are all a-quiver at my one word blog titles.)

    But I DID put you into my sidebar, so all of my 4.5 visitors can easily find you and your fabulous blog.


Leave a Reply

