In which I try to behave as an adult

Other writer/bloggers obviously have more self confidence than I. Take Annam Manthiram for example. She regularly posts about the rejections she gets for the many stories she sends out. Given that rejections are not only a fact of life in this endeavor but the norm, I should be able to make occasional note of the rejections I get as well. I haven’t, as you know.

But now I’m going to try to be an adult about it and write a bit about the current fate of one of my stories. It’s a humorous story set in the art fair community, and I call it “Velvet Elvis.” I’ve sent it out to four likely magazines, and I’ve received three rejections. (The fourth never responded even months after its own reported response time. Nor has the magazine updated its site all year. Kaput, I suspect.)

One of my rejections was a flat no thanks in standard, anonymous form. I’m used to those. The other two, however, were more generous, and they gave me hope for the story. The editor at Johnny America said he really liked the story but that its tone wasn’t quite right for their mix. (I do tend to snarkiness when I write my humorous stories.) He welcomed me to submit other work, and I likely will when I feel I have something right.

The most recent rejection was from Jersey Devil Press, which I really thought I had targeted exactly; my story seemed identical to the type of thing I’d seen there. The rejection was personal and supportive. He said that there was much he liked about the story and that it was a close call, but he was going to pass.

I like my story, and I’m going to keep sending it around. It’s already back in the Submishmash system for another magazine.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, Rants and ruminations

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “In which I try to behave as an adult”

  1. annam@annammanthiram.com Says:

    I think the whole rejection process gets easier the more times you get put through the ringer. I have adjusted my expectations, and every rejection doesn’t mean your story is bad. Just not right. Some hurt more than others.

    And I’ve never gotten a personal response from Johnny America, or a request to submit more, so I think that’s a really good rejection.


Leave a Reply

