Seasonal transition

On weekends I rise very early to write. Today I was up by 2:30. That’s 2:30 a.m. The house is quiet. The street outside is quiet. Even the dogs are quiet. I have peace and solitude, and I can really get some words onto the page in these hours.

The weather in our part of the world has been delightful lately. Lows in the 50s at night and highs in the 70s during the day. I’ve been leaving the window open in my writing room.

But the seasonal transition has begun. No longer can I stumble from my warm bed into my writing room in my usual uniform. This morning I pulled on a pair of sweat pants, and as the morning progressed I eventually closed the window and then later snuck into the bedroom (where my wife was sleeping) and took the top half of the sweats from the closet to pull on and keep warm.

But it’s comfy, and that’s the required part.

Update 2-OCT-2011 – Ugh! It’s 1:30 on Sunday morning now and I’m wide awake. These crazy weekend hours of mine have really goofed up my sleep schedule. So I’m sitting at my laptop, with a pitcher of iced tea at hand, hoping to make my time in the conscious world more productive.

Explore posts in the same categories: Process, Rants and ruminations

4 Comments on “Seasonal transition”


  1. Mornings like this are some of the best mornings of life as far as I’m concerned. Tomorrow will [hopefully] be this kind of morning for me. Today, it’s been hanging out with my wife and we’re about to head outside to enjoy cooler weather by Texas standards.

    I hope your morning was productive and that it’s not the only nice morning for you this weekend.

  2. Annam Says:

    That is early indeed, but there is something bewitching about that time of day.


  3. I am not a morning person–at all. I’m foggy and grumpy for hours after I get out of bed (no matter how much caffeine I consume). I write my best between 8 p.m. and 1 a.m. Apparently we’d make a great tag team!

  4. Brian Keaney Says:

    I don’t know how you do it! I get up at 6.30 and up until now I’ve been thinking of myself as an upright, decent and industrious fellow. Now I feel positively slovelnly.


Leave a Reply

