“Not Close”

My story “Not Close” is now up at The Adroit Journal. Alas, it’s a bit of a process to get to the story. You have to go to the Current Issue link, copy and paste a URL into your browser, then download the PDF of the issue. And then you have to find my story among the 84 pages. (Hint: It begins on page 44.) If I can get my crack technical team to show me how to make a better, more direct link, I will. After a sufficient time I will post the story in the sidebar.

The download is free, but the Journal suggests a donation to Free the Children. Supporting this worthy charity is the mission of the publication. You might consider making a donation.

This is my first, and only, piece of flash fiction. I wrote it more than two years ago and shopped it around with lackluster results until The Adroit Journal picked it up. I’ve been skeptical of flash as a form of fiction. I’m not sure what is gained by deleting and compressing a story so. As I’ve said here several times, half the tale is in the telling, and it seems as though flash fiction eliminates the telling.

But in retrospect, as I read the story again from the distance of time, I can see how a lot of the story is implied when it is told this way. I think it can create intrigue for the reader, which can make the story richer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humble efforts, short stories

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on ““Not Close””

  1. Annam Says:

    I do believe implication is what saves the flash fiction as a form of its own. I really enjoyed “Not Close.” I think what I liked best was her discomfort at being able to share even the slightest bit of emotion with her boss, which implies the very grave, barren emotional landscape of her childhood. It’s so tragic and sad. Without meaning to, she is replicating the flaws of her mother, perpetuating them even after her death. Loved this, Paul!

  2. Paul Lamb Says:

    Annam – Thanks for your comment. I had mixed feelings about this one since I’m skeptical of the form. But it does tell its story (and more) within the constraints. Perhaps I can revisit my skepticism.


Leave a Reply

