next up in the Kindle queue

I haven’t reported my Kindle purchases here in a long time. In part it’s because I haven’t made any purchases for my Kindle in a long time. The last book I got was a copy of Huckleberry Finn, and I had to pay $1.99 for it for some reason — shouldn’t it be in public domain?

Anyway, there have been a few books that I might have wanted to get for my Kindle, but as you may know, I like to donate the books I’m finished with to a small-town library that is not far from my little cabin in the woods. I can’t do that (yet) with digital books, so if a topic interested me enough to read a book one time, I often want to get the old bound-paper kind of book so that I can later donate it. (If it’s a book I intend to keep on my shelf, that I’m likely to read more than once, I’ll also likely get a paper book.)

So there have been a couple of reasons why my Kindle has been dormant in recent months. When I picked it up recently, the battery had gone dead and I had to recharge it. Then it lost its connection to our household wifi, and we had to reboot the house to reconnect.

But, all of that is now behind me, and I added a new book to my Kindle last evening. It is The Getaway Car by Ann Patchett. I’ve read several good reviews of it here and there, and I like this kind of book by a writer. I understand it is not a how-to book (I despise those) but a memoir about her writing life. That is much more interesting to me.

Update 21-MAR-2012: I really didn’t like this book. It felt insubstantial, almost like a mere contrivance to sell rather than a contribution to knowledge in any way. I hated all of the name dropping she did, and I thought many of her analogies that she used to prove her points were limping. Probably won’t pick anything else of hers for a while.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

5 Comments on “next up in the Kindle queue”


  1. As you know, I really liked The Getaway Car. Great length–can be read in a sitting or two. (Two for me.) So many times, a memoir repeats the same sentiment over and over, seemingly, for the same of padding the pages. Since the Getaway Car is shorter, things seem much more to the point.

    There are points made in it that had me almost cheering! Pratchett doesn’t hold back, but she’s also not cruel. It’s just straight-up good stuff!

  2. Paul Lamb Says:

    Christopher, it was based on your post about it that I made my choice.

  3. Brian Keaney Says:

    You could have got Huckleberry Finn from Project Guttenberg for nothing.

  4. kimmi Says:

    Guttenberg books can be rough in the formatting. Also sometimes in the editing.
    I’m not sure Kindle accepts whatever format(s) PG may be using now.
    The Barnes and Noble Nook version is 3.99.

  5. kimmi Says:

    Oh, never mind on the format matter.


Leave a Reply

