fathers and sons

I continue to be obsessed with the short stories that would fit into my theme of Fathers and Sons. It’s, of course, premature to call that a collection of stories, much less a story cycle. I’ve only written one of them. Theme works much better for now as a framework for whatever it is I am trying to do.

I think I am pretty much finished with the story code named “Superman.” I want to hear what my beta reader thinks of it, but then I’m ready to begin shopping it around. It’s serious and reflective, but I don’t know if it qualifies as “literary.” I have a few markets already in mind for it, but they are “literary,” and I have no idea if I have the game for that. We’ll see.

Human relationships are fraught with peril, aren’t they? The more I examine these story ideas, which, so far, revolve around the relationships among a grandfather, a father, and a son, the more material I find that will be difficult and worthy to write about.

As I said in an earlier post, I’m finding that these stories are pulling me away from my other work, but that isn’t so bad I guess. The Sleep of Reason is still in submission at the Amazon contest (the next cut is announced tomorrow though). Finnegans Deciphered is finished and I’m letting it simmer now before I dive in for a final read-through, rewrite. Then I guess I’ll begin submitting it to agents. And the next story I really want to write, which I’ve already given the title “Hoega Sewing Circle,” isn’t part of the Fathers and Sons grouping. It is going to be my Faulkner-influenced story. (I think everyone has to have one of those.) The book discussion group I’m in will devote the next four months to reading and understanding The Sound and the Fury, so I don’t want to get too much done on that short story before we finish our Faulkner discussion.

It seems that there is room in my creative schedule for a segue into Fathers and Sons territory. And maybe it isn’t a segue at all. Maybe these are the stories I need to work on now at the cost of the others. As I’ve undoubtedly said countless times, though, I don’t really want to understand my creative process. If I analyze it, I may paralyze it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons, Rants and ruminations, short stories

Leave a Reply

