progress, thy name is persistence

I’ve astonished myself in recent days by “completing” yet another story in my Fathers and Sons cycle. In my “227” post last week I spoke of the struggle I was facing with embarking on this new story. I had hoped that I would overcome some hurdle and the words would flow.

Well, “227” has now become “1436.” I think the first draft of this thing is complete. I credit persistence and time in the chair for this success. (Also, copious amounts of iced tea, unsweetened, of course.) I’ve worked very hard on maintaining/evoking just the right tone with this story. (It’s so brief a tale that I needed to ensure that there was more to it than just plot. Of course, a writer should do that with every story regardless of the length. I know that. So lay off, okay?)

Anyway, I can’t decide if this is the best thing I’ve ever done or just a shaggy dog story. I mentioned before that most of the plot occurs in the last few words. To a careful reader, it’s hardly a surprising conclusion, at least to the plot, but it sure shakes up that hard-won tone. It will go to my usual beta readers, but I want to find someone whose forte is this kind of story telling. (“This kind of story telling”? What could I possibly mean by that?)

I’ve also mentioned before that these Fathers and Sons stories of mine are presenting themselves with pleasing regularity. As I worked my way through this story, which has the tentative title of “When we were young and life was full,” (is that alluringly evocative or just twee?) I had plenty of revelations about a subsequent story that grows naturally from it. My characters are putting on more flesh, and the universe they inhabit is becoming more tangible to me.

It’s intoxicating to be in this creative place right now. (Though that might be the iced tea talking. Check back with me at the end of the week when I’m drinking decaf tea and see if I feel the same way.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons, short stories

One Comment on “progress, thy name is persistence”

  1. Averil Dean Says:

    You’re in The Zone. Ah, it’s a beautiful place. If only we could buy a one-way ticket and stay there forever.

    Good on you for sticking it out.


Leave a Reply

