bits and pieces

Well, about the only thing I’ve accomplished since I last posted here was completing another 5K. I shaved two minutes and two seconds off of my time (though it was probably an easier course on a cooler morning), and I got another nifty shirt that I’ll probably never wear. #2 Son played soccer from a little pup all the way through high school and even a bit in college and med school. The mother of a soccer friend of his took all of her son’s team jersey’s through the years and made a quilt of them. My goal is to have enough running shirts to make a quilt too.

leafbullet2

I didn’t receive any rejections in the last week, which I suppose is a good thing. I am working hard on one of the Fathers and Sons stories to get it ready for submission. A certain magazine has a call out for stories dealing with childhood, and I think my story could qualify for consideration at least. But I don’t have that feel about it that it’s ready, that it’s finished. So I’m devoting a lot of attention to it, hoping to hone it to perfection in time for the submission deadline (which is at the end of this month). That will make it the fourth of the F&S stories I’ll be circulating.

leafbullet1

I have been working on my other stories a bit. It’s mostly pencil work right now; I’m not in the throes of actual creation of new material, but I think that’s coming soon. What has me perplexed is the fact that I have two completed novels that I am doing nothing with. I’m not shopping them around at all. What’s with that?

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

2 Comments on “bits and pieces”


  1. I’ve let the best novel I’ve written sit. Shopped around to a handful of, “Hey, great writing; too quirky for me, though,” rejections. But, seriously, it hit me: “This book has been done too long to just sit!” and I haven’t done too much in the way of finishing the next book. What’s with that, indeed!

    Congrats on shaving time off your 5K. Haruki Murakami is a firm believer that running and writing are very tied together, so…if an international bestseller says that, then clearly — shaving time off your 5K will hopefully somehow tie into some writing success for you and the Fathers and Sons stories!

  2. Averil Dean Says:

    What IS with that? Do you have queries ready for the novels?


Leave a Reply

