something that scares me

Whoever they are, they say you should do something each day that scares you. I suppose this is to get you out of your comfort zone so you can grow or have a revelation or just feel the intensity of life more fully. Whatever.

I just did something that scared me.

I withdrew one of my stories that received an acceptance from a publication.

The story is one of my Fathers and Sons pieces, “The Lonely Road,” and I honestly think it may be the best thing I’ve ever written. (Yes, I realize that sounds like hubris, but what’s a fellow supposed to think of his efforts?)

Unfortunately, the more I learned about the publication, the less I thought it was a worthy berth for my piece. I don’t mean for that to sound dismissive; I just think this story merits a place in a high-profile magazine with some heft and even prestige. The publication that offered the acceptance is a start up (a fledgling in Duotrope’s parlance); my story would be in only their second edition. Their first edition seemed to contain work only by college students. I just didn’t feel as though it had the fit I wanted.

A couple of years ago, I would have been turning cartwheels in the hallways of my mind at such a success, but I guess I’m a different writer today. I have more confidence in my work, more respect for my hard-earned skill, and I don’t think I should take just any acceptance to get the byline. I hope that doesn’t sound arrogant. I don’t mean it to be.

I’ve submitted the story to two other publications, and I’ll be on the look out for other likely fits. I’m confident about it, and I’m willing to wait to find its right home.

In other news, a bit of creative nonfiction of mine will be published as part of an ebook coming out in a few weeks. When I know more about the details, I let you in on them here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons, Humble efforts, short stories

3 Comments on “something that scares me”

  1. Pete Says:

    Good for you. You’ve reached the point where you no longer believe in “publication at all costs.” Your work deserves a proper venue, so there’s no reason to settle for less.

  2. Annam Says:

    That takes guts!

  3. Teri Says:

    Good for you in doing what felt right. And here’s to keeping the faith.


Leave a Reply

