two submissions – one journal

I was cruising the submission calendar at Duotrope’s Digest the other day and came across a recent new entry looking for pieces dealing with “innocence and experience.” I immediately thought of two of my Fathers and Sons stories, so I submitted both of them.

The last time I did this was to a speculative fiction anthology, and the editor said he liked both pieces but would use only one. I chose the one I thought less likely to be published elsewhere and kept the one I thought would be more successfully submitted. The one I kept still hasn’t seen publication after several years of effort. Perhaps I made the wrong choice way back then.

In the case of my Fathers and Sons submissions, I really think both are good and have realistic chances at seeing publication, if not in this journal then in another. The submission guidelines at the magazine were a bit imprecise. It didn’t actually say I could not submit two pieces. It only said that prose submissions couldn’t exceed ten pages. Well, one of them is seven pages, and the other is nine pages. So, technically, I think I am okay. Whether the editors are miffed by my multiple submission or not, I don’t know.

When I reported my submission on Duotrope, it gave me a warning that the publication had not reported that it would accept multiple submissions. Well, I’ll wait and see. The deadline is September 30, and each of my two stories is submitted elsewhere. Should one be accepted before then, I can withdraw it from consideration at this new mag and just have the single submission.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons, short stories

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “two submissions – one journal”

  1. Averil Dean Says:

    From what I’ve seen, this call for submissions has your name all over it. Good luck, Paul, I’ve got my fingers crossed.

  2. Paul Lamb Says:

    Averil – Thanks for the encouraging words. I check my email almost hourly, certain that I’l have a positive response…

  3. Averil Dean Says:

    You know what they say: A watched email box never delivers.

  4. Averil Dean Says:

    (Okay, so no one says that.)

  5. Paul Lamb Says:

    It sure hasn’t!


Leave a Reply

