ramblings

So if you’ve read this humble blog for even a short amount of time, you know that I have what I consider a healthy skepticism about so-called conventional wisdom. A couple of posts back I mentioned that I had recently sent two submissions to a single journal for consideration. I asked about this on Poets and Writers, whether it was considered bad form or a means for ensuring two quick rejections. I didn’t get any absolute answers, though the general thought was that it might not be a good idea.

So what do you think? Have you had experience with this? War stories? Battle scars?

leafbullet1

Several of my submissions to various publications had deadlines at the end of August. I was certain that within the first week of September I’d have responses on all of them. Note that the rejection I got last week from Cream City Review came months before their stated deadline for the theme issue. I took from that the idea that submissions can be considered before the deadline passes. (It could also mean that my submission was so off the mark that they knew they could reject it instantly.) I suppose it could be that some publications don’t begin reading submissions until the deadline has passed. Anyone know?

Regardless, I just keep at it.

leafbullet2

And speaking of keeping at it, I ran my first official 10K road race last weekend! That’s twice my normal distance. It was in downtown Kansas City and across the Missouri River. I certainly wasn’t the fastest runner, but I didn’t need to stop, and I felt fine at the end, which is encouraging. I have another 10K in two weeks and a couple of 5Ks in the coming months. Who is this man I’ve become?

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic, Rants and ruminations

4 Comments on “ramblings”

  1. Annam Says:

    Congrats on the 10K! And in regards to multiple submissions, I’ve never done that, and it may not be a great idea. I have submitted simultaneously when the guidelines specifically stated that they do not take sim submissions. The journal found out and sent me a rejection, along with a very stern warning. I have not submitted again for fear I am on some black list.

    And yes, I have received rejections for themed issues well before the deadline. I figure they know what they are looking for, and if the piece doesn’t fit, it doesn’t fit. Though the one or two day turnarounds make me wonder if sometimes they even read them.

  2. Teri Says:

    First, submit as many stories to the same journal as they will take! (some actually limit you to one, or one every six months, etc…) But most will take multiple online submissions. The people doing the reading will read each story as if submitted by “whomever.” They won’t even look at your name unless/until they decide to email you. So submit submit submit!

    As for deadlines, many journals do not even start reading submissions until the deadline has passed. Which means they may have hundreds of submissions to read. So maintain belief, and hope!, that you are still in the mix until you hear otherwise.

    Best of luck, Paul !!!

  3. Averil Dean Says:

    I know nothing about journal submissions or running, except that both require endurance. And you have that in spades, my friend.

  4. macdougalstreetbaby Says:

    I don’t know nothing ’bout this stuff. I will tell you that you’ve inspired me. I’m going to rewrite my ABOUT page. It’s most certainly about time.

    A few years ago I would wake up really really early and walk to the track across from our house. I loved going around and around, again and again. Now I’m into swimming but it’s that same experience. Around and around. For me, it’s very zen.


Leave a Reply

