bits and pieces

Well, I got another rejection last week. It was for “When We Were Young and Life was Full In Us,” which is one of my Fathers and Sons stories. The publication is from the English Department of a southern university, and I had responded to their call for stories on the theme of pleasure. It was a form rejection, so I got no feedback on the story itself. But I rarely do.

So that story is out for consideration elsewhere, and I’m looking around for other targets.

leafbullet2

In my effort to make October a productive month, I’ve already made two other story submissions this month, including a pie-in-the-sky submission to Glimmer Train. I realize there is little better than a zero percent chance of getting accepted there, but it feels good to try. And who knows. Maybe the stars will align just right.

leafbullet1

A few other, non-Fathers and Sons story ideas have been asserting themselves in recent weeks. I’m reluctant to break the spell of the F&S stories by working on something else, but I’m thinking I’ll try to work on these other stories in some other venue: in the evenings or at the library or such.

leafbullet6

And what’s with all of the spam comments I’m getting on this humble blog lately?

Explore posts in the same categories: Rants and ruminations

5 Comments on “bits and pieces”

  1. macdougalstreetbaby Says:

    I’d love to read one of your Father and Son stories. Are they mostly memoir? I almost never write fiction.

    Good for you for submitting. Do your kids read your stuff?

  2. sonjejones Says:

    I once submitted a short story to Glimmer Train. It was kind of exciting, even though I got the inevitable rejection. But maybe you won’t!

  3. Teri Says:

    Hang in there, Paul. As for the spam, I’m getting a lot too — and much of it comes from a search for “instant oatmeal.” ????? Go figure.

  4. Paul Lamb Says:

    macdougalstreetbaby – Nope, they’re certainly not memoir. I’m just pulling fiction out of my head.
    Sonje – I think I’ve had one rejection from Glimmer Train, sometime in the past, but it blurs with all of the other rejections I’ve had
    Teri – I keep on keeping on. What else does one do, right?

  5. Teri Says:

    You’re right to do this, Paul. You never know who will be reading and what they’ll be looking for on the other end.

    I remember hearing an acting teacher explain to his students “don’t get so upset when you’re rejected for a part.” Why? Because you’re no worse off. You came to the audition without a job, so you’re leaving without a job. All is even. Eventually someone says YES, and you never know who that someone will be.


Leave a Reply

