“Time Heals All”

My short story “Time Heals All” has been accepted for the Temporal Element Anthology, to be published by Hall Brothers Entertainment. As you might guess, it’s a speculative fiction piece, dealing with time travel in this case, and it has a humorous twist at the end. I wrote it during my Isaac Asimov-influenced period.

I’ve had this story for several years, and I’ve been submitting it around for about that long. It baffled a lot of editors, but I think they were reading it too literally. That whole temporal paradox business seemed to get in the way. But Asimov dealt with that effectively in his novel The End of Eternity, and  I think I sidestep it mostly in my little story. Besides, it’s fiction, right? And it’s meant to be playful.

Acceptance came only nine days after submission. When I think of stories of mine that are still out there nine months after submission, I’m tickled that this one found a home so quickly. Also, I will get paid for this story! That’s right. The second story of mine to garner payment. (Curiously, the first story I was paid for — “Diaspora,” which earned me $10 — is also a speculative fiction piece.) For “Time Heals All” I will get fifteen cents! Payment will be in the form of a Liberty dime and a Buffalo nickel.

I don’t yet know the publication date, but when I do, I’ll shout it from the rooftops.

Explore posts in the same categories: short stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on ““Time Heals All””

  1. LauraMaylene Says:

    Congratulations, Paul! Always glad to hear your good news.

  2. Annam Says:

    CONGRATS!

  3. Teri Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! (yes, all caps required) Good news in these parts! Let us know when it comes out.

  4. Averil Dean Says:

    Woo-hoo! Congratulations, Paul, that’s wonderful news!


Leave a Reply

