Alvaro Mutis

I learned this week that one of my favorite writers, Alvaro Mutis, has died. He is probably best known for his series of novellas, The Adventures and Misadventures of Maqroll. I first learned of these stories on the Community board at ABE Books many years ago, and since I have this Quixote fixation, I knew I had to give them a read. They are now a permanent resident of my bookshelf, and I certainly intend to read them all again.

There are only six novellas in the collection, but I had heard that he was working on at least one more story about Maqroll in the last few years. If I could read Spanish, I understand there are a number of other works of his I could devour. And if I could read poetry at all, even more.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

