my days of inertia

Here’s how it’s been going:

Sunday – Wrote nothing. Edited nothing. Read nothing. Slept in. Ran 6.2 good miles on the treadmill. Stumbled around the art museum.

Monday – Wrote nothing. Edited nothing. Read a little. Went to work. Went to a doctor’s appointment. Sat around like a slug in the evening.

Tuesday – Wrote nothing. Edited nothing. Read a little. Went to work. Ran 6.5 good miles on the treadmill. Sat around like a slug in the evening.

Wednesday – Wrote nothing. Edited nothing. Read a little. Went to work. Did a little weight training in the gym. Sat around like a slug in the evening.

Thursday – Wrote nothing. Edited nothing. Read a little. Went to work. Ran 7 good miles on the treadmill. Sat around like a slug in the evening. Had a generally dark and dismal day.

Friday – Wrote nothing. Edited nothing. Read a little. Went to work (but skipped out early). Went to the movies (The Imitation Game). Ate two slices of very dense and very sweet cake. Sat around like an overfed slug in the evening.

Today – Rose at 2:30 a.m. (That’s not a typo.) Edited two of my stories. Through a supreme act of will, submitted the two stories to two different journals. Fell back in exhaustion. Contemplated running on the treadmill.

I doubt I’ve broken my current cycle of inertia, but maybe I have. I’ll watch the actions of this person I am and see. Perhaps I’ll have more to tell you later.

Explore posts in the same categories: Rants and ruminations

One Comment on “my days of inertia”

  1. donnaeve Says:

    God in heaven, 2:30? The only reason, make that ONLY reason I get up at 2:30 is to go to the bathroom.

    BUT. I do like what you did at 2:30 … that editing part. Yay. (Notice I didn’t put an exclamation point after yay.) Cliche, but “baby steps, Paul.” It’s all good.


Leave a Reply

