a moving story

I’m making some really nice progress on my latest Fathers and Sons story, “Father’s Day.” It’s been revealing itself to me cautiously and letting me craft it slowly and carefully. I’m pleased. (What an odd feeling!).

I have more than 1,500 words down, and I’ve reached the halfway point, at least as I understand the story now. I know what I want to do; I know the story I want to tell, and that’s refreshing. Too many times (too many failures) I have embarked on a story only to get stalled along the way, flailing about fruitlessly and surrendering in frustration. (How many metaphors did I mix in that last sentence? And is “flailing about fruitlessly” redundant?)

In structure, this story is going to be a lot like “The Lonely Road.” It will begin with a character in anguish and then end with healing tenderness. Only my central protagonist, Davey, and his wife, Kathy, are in the story, but it is very much about the relationships between fathers and sons. (In this way, the story is something like another F&S story I’ve written called “The Saddest Casualty” that has only Davey and his mother as characters but is also very much about Davey’s relationship with his father and the things that sometimes are not/cannot be said between fathers and sons.) Kathy is, of course, more discerning than her husband, so her reflections on his laments help develop the connections to the characters who are off stage.

The second half of this story takes place at the family’s little cabin in the Ozarks. I’m eager to get to work on that part since a) that cabin is their location of healing throughout the cycle, and b) I haven’t been out to my own cabin for more than two months (YIKES!), so at least I’ll get to experience one by proxy.

I feel as though I’ve gotten past something, some damned thing that wasn’t letting me write at all. I haven’t resolved that something yet, but I’m in battle with it, and I’m grateful that I’ve made enuf progress to be able to write again. Maybe next I’ll be able to read fiction the way I used to.

Wish me luck. And momentum.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons

Leave a Reply

