my haul at Powell’s

I was instructed to report on the books I gifted to myself after visiting Powell’s in Portland. We had a busy agenda for the day, but the bookstore was only blocks from where the day started, so we managed to get one of my two goals for the week checked off. (The other is a visit to the Nike Factory store with the remote hope that I can find a new hooded jacket to supplement the one I mostly wear non-stop right now — yes, even in the summer since I am always cold.)

I tried to restrain myself some at Powell’s since I still haven’t worked through some of the books I bought there last fall when I was in Portland. There were certainly a lot more books I had my hands on today and then put back on the shelf.

So here they are:

  • The Flight from the Enchanter by Iris Murdoch – I am slowly rebuilding my Murdoch collection, and I am hoping to re-read her entire output (fiction) in order. This was her second novel, and it’s not commonly found, so I grabbed the one copy Powell’s had and will read it soon.
  • Iris Murdoch by Richard Todd – Essays about her earlier novels. I can use any enlightenment I can get. (I actually already have a shelf of books like these, and some are much too scholarly for me to get through.)
  • Thoreau: the Complete Individualist by Robert Dickens – Because Thoreau!
  • Dive Deeper: Journeys with Moby-Dick by George Cotkin – Because Moby-Dick!

I had deliberately saved some space in my luggage to have room for the books I hoped to bring back with me. (The last time I was here, my son had to lend me a bag.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

One Comment on “my haul at Powell’s”

  1. Diane Says:

    I was in Washington recently and insisted on a trip to Orca Books in Olympia. Managed to come away with only $89 in purchases, and fit it all in my luggage! I’d packed in anticipation. 🙂


Leave a Reply

