have I read this book?

So I completed re-reading The Flight from the Enchanter the other night, and I enjoyed my second trip through it, confirming that Iris Murdoch is worth reading and re-reading. But I must confess that I only remembered one scene and only a few of the characters from my first reading. It was as though I had never read the novel once before.

Granted, I had read it originally many years ago — as much as a decade ago. (I could look it up because, like everyone else in the world, I keep a list of the books I’ve read and the date I completed them.) But can I say I’ve actually read a book, gave it a serious and thoughtful reading, if I can’t remember it years later?

Certainly there have been many books I’ve read that are not worth remembering, and there have been many that are intentionally light weight — “beach reading” is a common term for these — that are meant to be enjoyed at the time and then left behind. But what can I say about myself and my “serious” reading if I can’t remember a novel years after I’ve read it? Did I really read it with the seriousness it deserved? Did I pause and reflect on elegant passages, humorous scenes, unexpected insights? Did I give the novel the attention it deserved?

I suppose that parts of the novel have entered the matrix of thoughts that make up what passes for my consciousness in ways I don’t recognize. (In fact, generally when I have a sudden insight about something, I question whether the thought is one of my own or something I’ve recycled from another but don’t recognize.) I suppose the first reading left impressions I’m not aware of but use in the ceaseless conversation of ideas that goes on in my head. At least, I’m going to tell myself that.

I’ve read Philip Roth’s novel The Ghost Writer more than thirty times. I know that story well. I know the characters. The scenes. The humor. The pathos. And yet, each time I read it, I find something new in it, something I hadn’t seen in my other visits. I’ve often said that I don’t think you can begin to know a novel until you’ve read it a second time. It just bugs me with Enchanter that it is as though my second time is my first time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “have I read this book?”

  1. pete29anderson Says:

    It’s not you, it’s the book. Not Murdoch specifically, but books in general. Some books, finely written as they are, just don’t resonate with a particular reader. I’ve read a few Per Petterson novels, and though they absorbed me at the time, I can remember almost nothing about them shortly after. (And not just Petterson, but many other fine writers as well.) But like you and Roth, I’ve read and re-read Knut Hamsun’s HUNGER at least ten times, never tire of it, find something new each time, and can vividly picture scenes from the book long after I’ve finished reading. Hamsun’s protagonist even feels like an old friend of mine. Not every book connects like that, through no fault of yours.


Leave a Reply

