lonely no more

My short story “Been Lonely So Long” has been accepted for publication in The Nassau Review. I submitted in response to their call for works relating to “the lies we tell ourselves.” I thought it might fit that theme, and the editors agreed.

The story is a musing on the nature of compassion and in this case, how we dodge it while telling ourselves we aren’t. It’s also narrated almost wholly in 1st person plural, which was intentional and thematic.

This is another one-off story. It’s not connected to my Fathers and Sons cycle, nor are the characters connected to anyone/anything else I’ve written about before. It does include running as a major component however.

I don’t know when the story will appear, but it does appear that it will only appear in print. It’s an annual publication, so it may be next year at this time before it comes out. I don’t know; I’ll have to do some digging about that and let you know.

Explore posts in the same categories: short stories

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “lonely no more”


Leave a Reply

