“Moving Day”

In a feat of astonishing and thoroughly unexpected effort, I have “finished” my Fathers and Sons story “Moving Day.” I had a general idea of what I needed to do in the tale, but it didn’t work out that way. Instead I wrote a story from the viewpoint of the (teenaged) grandson, and I think it is better for it. I will, of course, refine/rewrite/rework the story in the days and weeks to come, but I think the foundation is laid.

It didn’t end as I expected it to, but given the revelation I spoke of in yesterday’s post, it makes perfect sense. Suffice to say that we are guardians of our own memories and the memories of others as much as we can be.

This leaves only two more stories to be written in the cycle as I currently conceive it. Two more! I can’t tell you how good this makes me feel. Only two stories left! In my writing life? It’s been nearly four years since I penned the first story in the cycle (which hasn’t found a home yet), and when I wrote that story (“The Death of Superman”) I had no idea it would open my creative self to an entire cycle of more than a dozen stories. Now I’m nearing the end, and with the recently understood revelation about my narrator (it’s a big dang deal for me!), I think those stories will be comparatively easy to get down in 1st draft. I know where to take them.

The next story, which I’ve titled “Men at Rest” and which is intended to “reflect” my story “Men at Work and Play”, is already presenting itself to me in my crowded and noisy little head. This was one I had intended to write in an “experimental” format with several narrators/points of view. But I don’t need to fuss with that any longer give my narrator revelation (see above, to your own peril and/or tedium). It’s a kind of wrap-up story, and it will be the second-to-last story in the cycle. But so much needs to feed into it, that I’m sure it will be the one I rewrite and revise and refine most of all. A good problem to have.

Then comes the last story, “Little Gray Birds.” I had an important insight about it while on the treadmill the other day. It came to me at about twenty minutes into a two hour run (damned marathon training plan!), so I had to keep repeating the idea to myself as I trotted along. In “Little Gray Birds” all is revealed. Or maybe not. I haven’t written it yet, and I’m still not sure what I’ve going to do with the narrator revelation I’ve spoken of (ad nauseam). That’s a down-the-road matter, and I’m sure I’ll bore you with it in the weeks to come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons

2 Comments on ““Moving Day””


  1. 1. How do you manage to run on a treadmill for two hours without dying of boredom?

    2. I need to stop writing more often, if this inverse proportion of our productive/unproductive times continue!

  2. Paul Lamb Says:

    Indy,
    1. I don’t know. I don’t listen to music (fear of ear worms) or watch television. I just listen to the voices in my head and stare at the boxes of crap my kids have left behind in my basement.
    2. Follow your bliss. (?)


Leave a Reply

