“Runaway”

I was just lacing up to go for a run (82 degrees, 55% humidity) when my phone chirped and told me I had an email. It was an acceptance letter for my story “Runaway.” The publication is called Aethlon, a print journal that is interested in the intersection of literature and sports. “Runaway” is one of my Fathers and Sons stories, and I’m particularly proud of it because it was my first attempt to bring running into a story. I’d shopped it around a few places, but I had about given up on it in part because I was beginning to think the stories ought to just stay focused on being a collection rather than individual pieces here and there. I had submitted it to this magazine in February, prior to my thoughts on no longer submitting them.

So I have to do a little formatting to the document but no rewriting. I’ll get that done quickly and send it back to the editor. Then I’ll find something else to pay attention to because it looks as though the edition my story will appear in won’t be out until the end of the year.

I’m sure I’ll babble about this more as things develop.

Update: I made the few formatting edits that were required, and, of course, I tinkered with the story a bit, then I sent it back to the editor at the address he gave me. It was an invalid address. So I scrounged and found the correct address then re-sent it. Then I sent another email to the editor asking if he could confirm that he received it. Then I worried about it all day. Creative writing can be such a perilous endeavor!

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on ““Runaway””


  1. You’re on a roll!

  2. Diane Says:

    Congratulations, Paul! Nice timing on that email. Do keep us posted on publication.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Bravo! Well done! Take a bow!

  4. O.R. Melling Says:

    Sorry didn’t mean that to be from the famous hacking group. I did include my website etc.


Leave a Reply

