back to our regular programming

So it’s not all marathon news here at the humble blog. Obviously I’ve been pre-occupied for the last few weeks, and my writing life has “suffered” for it. But it’s time for me to ease back into this other part of my life and get to the big work that’s needed there.

I had intended to spend last weekend at my cabin, indulging in a last, well-earned debauchery of beer and cigars around a smoky campfire. But the head cold I had nixed that, and instead I found myself caring for grandson, Emmett, on Saturday as his parents had an actual date night. (I’m pretty sure I caught the cold from Emmett, so I don’t think it was wrong for me to be watching him while still suffering from it.) So maybe the cabin next weekend, though it will be a little cooler at night.

I’ve been peeking at the collected stories in One-Match Fire, looking for the tone and rhythm so I can get back to the big re-read and begin composing a query letter for it. No more dithering. No more distraction. It’s time for me to step up to this culmination.

Also, and completely unbidden, I had something of a revelation about that old novel of mine The Sleep of Reason. It had gotten some attention from a few agents but never went anywhere. But during my cold medicine-induced delirium on the flight home from New York, I thought of a different angle I could pitch it with. Looks like I’ll be unearthing that old project and see what I might do with it.

And there are a few short story ideas I can give more love to.

Plenty of work waiting for my return.

Explore posts in the same categories: Rants and ruminations

3 Comments on “back to our regular programming”


  1. I wish I could cobble together (and then sustain) that sort of ambition.


  2. I’ll have you know that since you changed the name of what you’re working on, every time I’ve started a campfire, I think about your book! 🙂

    Here’s to cooler weather and darker, quiet times made for writing! (Such a great time of the year.)

  3. Dean Gugler Says:

    Sounds as if more than running will keep you busy.


Leave a Reply

