nothing much to say

I’ve been A.W.O.L. but only because I haven’t had much to say. The interstice betwixt “finishing” One-Match Fire and beginning something new is dragging out longer than I would like, but it also explains why I don’t have any writing dispatches or insights to give.

__________

I continue to receive rejections from agents for my One-Match Fire submissions, which suggests strongly to me that I must have been sending out submissions. I suppose I should do more of that. I’m pretty sure after a point, it’s all a numbers game anyway.

__________

The weather around here has been erratic (“bipolar” is the word one friend used). In the eighties one day and then in the twenties two days later. Dry enuf to make your skin crack and then enuf rain in a few days to make basements damp. Whether it has been enuf to fill my dry lake (or even give the poor fish in the remaining puddle a little recharge) remains to be seen. Because of some mixed messages, I didn’t get a chance to trek down to my cabin over the weekend as I had hoped, but I have been watching the weather reports for that part of the state, and it sure looks as though my watershed got plenty of precipitation.

__________

You may already know that my daughter is expecting twins in August. On Saturday, my son sent us a sonogram of triplets! Yes, triplets!

Then we realized it was April Fools’ Day.

__________

I managed to run 100.26 miles last month. Just a quarter mile over my minimum goal. I was hampered, however, by a wonky knee. I’m not sure what caused it, whether it was the newish shoes I have or the transition from treadmill to pavement. But I took off an entire week from running to rest the knee, which would have otherwise added at least 25 miles to my total, so I don’t feel so bad. And once I got back to running, the wonkiness of the knee quickly went away. I’m not sure what that means either.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

One Comment on “nothing much to say”


  1. Thanks for the shoutout! Nice work on 100 miles.


Leave a Reply

