coincidences, of the obstetric kind

Yesterday, thirty-three years ago, my twin sons were born. Also yesterday, this year, my twin grandchildren were born: a boy and then a girl. So my twin sons’ twin niece and nephew were born on their birthday.

It also happens that I was born on my mother’s birthday. And I have twin sisters, so that’s three generations in my family with twins.

The coincidences go on: my twin sisters were born on Thanksgiving day, one of my brothers was born on Easter, and another was born on the Fourth of July. (A friend once told me that my mother planned it that way to get out of cooking for those holidays.)

The twins were not due until next month, and my wife happened to be up there in New York this week caring for my grandson Kenneth while his very pregnant mama got some rest. It was a lucky coincidence that the babies came while she was in town. She returns to Kansas City tomorrow,* but the twin’s aunt arrives in New York tomorrow as well to take on the elder childcare duties while mama and the babies come home and get settled. After their aunt leaves, their other grandma arrives for possibly a month-long stay. Coincidentally, she is an OBGYN Nurse Practitioner, so she will pretty much be the right person in the right place at the right time.

The girl twin was showing low oxygen saturation levels soon after birth and was shuttled off to the NICU. Apparently this is routine and easily dealt with, so no one is worried much. But Dad went with his new daughter to NICU while Mom stayed in her room with her new son. And because they were separated for much of the day on Sunday, they waited until the afternoon to announce the babies’ names, by texting, of course.

And here they are:

  • Everett Travis, who weighed 5 pounds and 9 ounces
  • Elizabeth Viola, who weighed 6 pounds and 3 ounces

(For those of you keeping score, I have five grandchildren, and all but one have a name beginning with “E”: Kenneth, Elaheh, Emmett, Everett, and Elizabeth.)

 

*Plans (and planes) changed. My wife is now staying another week in NYC to help with the babies and their older brother. This will make the sleeping arrangements in their house a little challenging since someone is going to end up on the couch.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic

2 Comments on “coincidences, of the obstetric kind”


  1. Congrats Grandpa!


  2. Kenneth has so many “e”s in it that it counts too. Congrats!


Leave a Reply

