Ozark Autumn – Skywatch Friday

Back when the temperatures around here were still moderate, I enjoyed a day at my cabin in the Missouri Ozarks. One thing I do regularly this time of year is rake leaves away from the base of the cabin. Not only does that create a (temporary) fire break, but it removes the cover burrowing animals would otherwise have, and it removes generally wet leaves from the wooden logs of the cabin walls, reducing mildew. And since I just re-stained the cabin a few weeks ago, I’m all about keeping it up.

I had paused in my raking to look at the unbroken vault of blue in the sky above. You see the corner of the cabin roof, the cluster of oak trees about to drop more leaves, and the autumn blue sky beyond. I read somewhere that the skies are bluer this time of year because there is less humidity in the air. That may be true, but it takes all of the romance out of it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic, Roundrock

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Ozark Autumn – Skywatch Friday”

  1. Peter B. Says:

    Pretty shot. Getting away to your cabin sounds like a lot of fun (with a little maintenance work mixed in)! Have a nice weekend.

  2. robin andrea Says:

    I love seeing the sky there above the autumn leaves. Beautiful.

  3. markparis Says:

    It also often means that a front has pushed all the dirty air away to plague someone else. I don’t know how romantic that is.


Leave a comment